WAVE Evaluation Tool

WAVE Evaluation Tool

Evaluate web accessibility within your browser.

Total ratings for WAVE Evaluation Tool
4.13 (Rating count: 137)
User reviews summary
These summaries are automatically generated weekly using AI based on recent user reviews. Chrome Web Store does not verify user reviews, so some user reviews may be inaccurate, spammy, or outdated.
Pros
  • Useful for checking accessibility of a page
  • Provides all the basic validations that developers should check
  • Clear description of issues and how to fix them
  • Easy to use and provides detailed reports
Cons
  • Does not persist settings on details pane
  • Static and does not refresh/reassess the page when navigating through websites
  • Can mess up styles on the page
  • UI can be poor and confusing
Most mentioned
  • Useful tool for accessibility testing
  • Issues with settings not persisting
  • Difficulty refreshing/reassessing the page
  • Poor UI
  • Problems with page layout
See reviews for WAVE Evaluation Tool on Chrome Web Store
Upgrade to see all 82 reviews
Recent reviews for WAVE Evaluation Tool
Recent rating average: 4.10
All time rating average: 4.13
Upgrade to see all 82 reviews
Rating filters
5 star
52% (43)
4 star
18% (15)
3 star
12% (10)
2 star
11% (9)
1 star
6% (5)
Date Author Rating Lang Comment
2024-02-02
Todd Vens
Todd Vens
2024-01-10
Benjamin Porter
Benjamin Porter
en Really handy dev tool for checking accessibility of a page. There's also a firefox version
2023-12-22
julien bouloux
julien bouloux
2023-12-02
Robson Mafra
Robson Mafra
en The WAVE plugin is excelente and align with WCAG! Give all the basic validations all developers should check and give instructions how to improve. I recommend for all developers, specially for people starting with accessibility.
2023-03-08
Jared Reid
Jared Reid
This does not work. I was unable to highlight anything after making sure it was enabled with permissions, and trying it in both an updated Chrome and Edge browser separately. Nothing gets highlighted or saved, even on a Google search page.
2023-01-13
Teri Brooks
Teri Brooks
I added a bunch of similar extensions and none of them worked properly, or they only provided some info but required you to sign up to get the "full" experience. But this one is fantastic and provides all the details I need in an easy to understand layout. It finds stuff that other extensions missed, and it's quick and doesn't slow down the browser. Being able to toggle between showing the styles or hiding them is a nice touch. My only issue is that by using this extension, I give them permission to read my browser history. What on earth do they need that for? That's a bit of a concern.
2022-10-25
Tony Langford
Tony Langford
It's a pretty useful tool, but there are some annoyances that make it hard to work with: 1) On the details pane you can check and uncheck the type of errors/warnings to show, we are doing our first round of testing an improvements and so want to focus on just Errors/Contrast Errors. But these settings do not persist, each page it's open extension, details tab, uncheck all these warning/aria sections.... allow these settings to persist please! 2) It's static. We have a React JS UI. The page is changing as the user uses it, the extension however only looks at the page at the point the extension loads. So you have to turn it off, wait for the page to reload, make sure its back at the new state you want it, and then turn it back on.... Just takes far too long. 3) It messes up styles, things get shifted off the page which makes it difficult to see certain problems
2022-08-03
Ermes Mox
Ermes Mox
Slow, old, with a lot of issues. It's time to update and improve this tool.
2022-05-25
Mitchell Christensen
Mitchell Christensen
Great tool. Thank you for providing such a useful tool for accessibility
2022-05-21
Rocky Kev
Rocky Kev
Used this to update and ensure accessibility for hundreds of sites.
Upgrade to see all 82 reviews