S.H.E. Search Human Equalizer S.H.E. Search Human Equalizer

Total ratings:
2.66 (Rating count: 47)
Recent 25 reviews
Timestamp Author Rating Comment
2021-06-14
Sunday Dunaway
Sunday Dunaway
Disappointed. Would like to use this extension but it really doesn't change most bias search results. Pantene you need to care if you are going to say you care.
2021-03-30
Zachary Yaro
Zachary Yaro
This no longer appears to function, even for their example search terms.
2019-11-04
Andrew Cameron
Andrew Cameron
Taking advantage of ignorant people to bump your advertising... Nice. Extremely unethical. I'll be sure to point people away from your business in the future. Cheers. That's what you get for pandering to the lowest common denominator.
2019-06-02 Alexander Serbe Keep making shampoos...
2019-05-19
Peter S
Peter S
Useless chrome extension. They used fake results in their promo and promote pantene products with this garbage "filter"
2019-05-14
Travis W
Travis W
All this extension does is pander to an audience unable to distinguish a terrible attempt at advertising and current unbiased web browsers...
2019-05-11
Geek Stuff Network
Geek Stuff Network
Useless and terrible. Barely even works.
2019-05-09
Abhilash Dhar
Abhilash Dhar
How to make sure you never get correct information about anything.
2019-05-07
Sylvian
Sylvian
This is just a propaganda machine disguised (poorly) as something that is supposed to improve equality.
2019-05-06
Anna B
Anna B
Well it is a garbage tool that pushes pantene ads, not worth your details and personal informations being leaked to a corportaion
2019-05-06
Markus Diehl
Markus Diehl
I searched for "perfect hair" and still did not find a picture of me. Obviously this extension is not working!
2019-05-06 Dr Falcon Total garbage playing on the victimhood mentality of women
2019-05-05
Fred Hagemeister
Fred Hagemeister
The most important reason to denounce this extension is that it forces many searches that relate to gender to return Pantene pages (for which the unadulterated Google search does not). Therefore, it is a veiled advertisement, and therefore, a deception. Beyond that, the whole reason for supposedly doing this is based on poor search engine usage. The Pantene ads show fraudulent searches and then uses a disclaimer of "simulated". Although I hope for a non-gender-biased world for my 3 daughters, I truly hope they never use this search engine to get such a fake view of the world.
2019-05-05 George García This extension is simply a pantene free advertisement, disguised by political topic
2019-05-04 Illustious 18 This extension claims to remove bias from search engine queries, however, whenever I search for anything hair related pantene.com is always the first result?? Does this extension actually introduce bias, rather than removing it?? Very disappointed, I had hoped that this extension would finally bring an end to the horribly unjust results that google currently gives and start treating everyone equally poorly. I do believe that this extension could bring significant difference to the world. Pantene, please consider updating and fixing your bias towards yourself, also if you updated more political terms I would consider updating my review! Let the world unite in 2020! Peace
2019-05-04
Sean Thompson
Sean Thompson
This extension is a marketing search result skewer. Without the addon if you search, through google, Pantene will not be the top result. When you enable the extension and search hair or hair products Pantene will now be the top result. Remember, installing this means Pantene can change the results you see in whatever fashion they want. They are a company don't buy into this and lose your privacy and freedom on the internet.
2019-05-04
Sascha Tausend
Sascha Tausend
This Chrome extension will monitor your search results for marketing purposes and it will push Pantene Products and possibly all Procter and Gamble products to the top of your google searches. Try searching for "great hair" with the extension on and off. https://i.imgur.com/UCB87G1.png Why does the extension only work on .com and .ca. This is racist and not inclusive at all!
2019-05-04 Juno Chun To anyone seriously thinking that this is a good idea: They're just putting Pantene advertisements at the top of all your searches. Besides, if you wanted to search for an image of a school girl without it being sexual, google already has built in features for that. Google also has buttons below the search bar to make your searches more precise. Why are you all delusional? This is also just a feminist/SJW echo chamber, where the top results support a specific political ideology. The only people getting this and thinking it works are those naive enough to believe everything that is told to them. My experience with this add-on is terrible. Endless advertisements for Pantene products and the search results are actually LESS accurate! If you look up, "Greatest astronauts", the S.H.E add-on tries so hard to show equal males and female astronauts, that they put females who aren't even astronauts in the results! Less accurate searches, more advertisements for themselves and puts you in an even bigger echo chamber than google already does! Everything I don't want with a search engine put into a single application. Would not recommend.
2019-05-03
Mihael Fildstien
Mihael Fildstien
This is a publicity stunt for Pantene, Even if the idea it's founded upon was solid (Which it isn't) This practically doesn't work as advertised. It seems to work only for the **SPECIFIC** examples they provided. AKA 'Schoolgirls', 'greatest scientists' and so on... It doesn't even work with the phrase 'best scientists' (it gives the same results when the addon turned on or turned off). Anyone with a little background in tech can understand that an addon such as this is almost impossible without general A.I. At best they could tailor specific results for very specific and limited search terms (Which is what they did.) However the worst part of this addon is the idea itself. It reads as: "I don't like reality, therefore I want search results to cater to what I think reality should be." This is reminiscent of the Black Mirror 'Arkangel' episode where a mother implants her daughter with a device that literally prevents her from perceiving anything the mother deems 'dangerous'. This doesn't end well, nor is it a good idea.
2019-05-02
Kat V.
Kat V.
I tried searching before and after this and saw no difference in the results. Not sure when or how much I'm supposed to notice the difference.
2019-05-02
Daniel Griffin
Daniel Griffin
I love the idea! I love the attention this brings to a *very real* problem! I knew it was probably just a marketing gimmick so my expectations were really low (hence the full five stars) but it does look like it equalizes the 150 search terms identified. (And the quality of the videos and design of the landing page is top notch.) A few issues should definitely be addressed though: The rollout and publicity should *really* ACKNOWLEDGE the work of scholars who have been raising these questions about wide-ranging bias, and particularly the sexist and racist search results and their truly harmful effects, in search engines. For instance, Pantene should be referencing Safiya Noble's broad engagement with these issues (see: "Algorithms of Oppression: How Search Engines Reinforce Racism"). Or Cynthia Matuszek's research (see: "Unequal Representation and Gender Stereotypes in Image Search Results for Occupations") or Jahna Otterbacher's work (see: "Competent men and warm women: Gender stereotypes and backlash in image search results") or, something older, Susan Gerhart's examination (see: "Do Web search engines suppress controversy?") — and many many others. Pantene should also explain more about HOW the extension "works on the search backend" to do the de-biasing. And Pantene should make sure their use of OUR data is *only* used for improving this tool—the privacy policy is way way to general! (The Chrome extension links not to a "Privacy Policy" but a E.U.L.A. (an end-user license agreement!) which then links to the exceedingly generic, though somewhat readable, "P&G Global Consumer Privacy Policy"). Why is that necessary? LASTLY, this only works on Google but the website and the Chrome extension page don't mention that at all. So, if you try it on Bing or DuckDuckGo, there is a popup that says "This extension works on Google Searches." That makes me a little sad inside because we don't want only ONE web or image search engine to be "equalized". Again, so so happy that this marketing campaign(?) brings broad attention to this problem of the design of search algorithms reinforcing society's sexism and racism. BUT, please please acknowledge and work with the giants whose shoulders you are standing on.
2019-05-01
Charlee Hart
Charlee Hart
This is amazing, empowering, and needs to be on everyone's browsers. Next step is putting it on firefox and explorer for everyone to use.
2019-05-01
Draem
Draem
I have faith in the future of this extension! I believe it'll help a lot of vrouws' confidence considering our images of our own existence are distorted by social media and whatnot.
2019-05-01
Zoe
Zoe
It is absolutely insane how different the search results are, it is really eye opening knowing how much women have done, yet is not celebrated.
2019-05-01
Paola Henao Ceballos
Paola Henao Ceballos
Espectacular