Honorlock

Honorlock

This extension lets you take Honorlock proctored online exams using the Google Chrome browser.

Total ratings for Honorlock
1.05 (Rating count: 3,277)
User reviews summary
These summaries are automatically generated weekly using AI based on recent user reviews. Chrome Web Store does not verify user reviews, so some user reviews may be inaccurate, spammy, or outdated.
Pros
    Cons
    • Invasion of privacy
    • Causes paranoia
    • Severe invasion of privacy
    • Conflicts with other extensions
    • Does not work properly
    Most mentioned
    • Invasion of privacy
    • Does not work properly
    • Causes paranoia
    • Conflicts with other extensions
    See reviews for Honorlock on Chrome Web Store
    Upgrade to see all 227 reviews
    Recent reviews for Honorlock
    Recent rating average: 1.00
    All time rating average: 1.05
    Upgrade to see all 227 reviews
    Rating filters
    5 star
    1% (3)
    4 star
    0%
    3 star
    0%
    2 star
    0% (1)
    1 star
    98% (223)
    Date Author Rating Lang Comment
    2024-06-12
    Maythat Mohammed
    Maythat Mohammed
    2024-06-12
    Joshline Singh
    Joshline Singh
    2024-06-12
    R V
    R V
    2024-06-11
    sheala castro
    sheala castro
    en I am a single mom with young child, so there is a high possibility they will be in the room or come into a room while I am taking an exam. I am not using a 6 and 7 year old to cheat. There are a lot of factors I don't think have been accounted for.
    2024-06-09
    Noah Canton
    Noah Canton
    en Honorlock: an unethical invasion of privacy Honorlock is an addon extension to Google Chrome, used to proctor online exams. Many universities are requiring this for some of their classes. Here's what it requires and does: You’ll start by scanning the room (360 degrees) with your webcam to ensure that no one else is present and that you’re not using any external resources, and then we’ll have you verify your identity by taking a picture of both yourself and your photo ID with your webcam. The AI system uses an eye-tracker, facial movement and recognition, and background movement, along with any audio. If your head is not positioned properly, detects noise, or detects too much movement, the system can pause your test with the clock still running. Many users complain the system triggers at random moments, and is a Big-Brother-esque software system, with an overall rating 1 out of 5 stars on the Chrome web store with 3.3K reviews. Honorlock records you throughout the exam or class, and stores the data on their servers. It tracks not only the data and history of your own computer and IP address, but also other nearby IP addresses. So, if someone had a roommate or family member that was using it, their data could potentially be tracked: We’re proud to have the industry’s first and only technology to detect cell phone, tablet, and laptop use while a student is taking an assessment. Our patented system can detect when these devices are accessing test bank content during an exam, and we capture a screen recording of the secondary device to provide evidence in the event of a violation. From the company's Privacy Policy: In an ongoing effort to better understand our Visitors and the Website, we might analyze your information in aggregate form to carry out, maintain, manage, and improve operations in connection with the Website. This aggregate information does not identify you personally. We may share this aggregate data with our affiliates, agents, and business partners. We may also disclose aggregated user statistics in order to describe our services and the Website to current and prospective business partners and to other third parties for other lawful purposes. From the CEO (https://www.removeddit.com/r/ufl/comments/ahdo4g/a_few_questions_about_honorlock/#): "The feature is network agnostic - using a secondary device on LTE or VPN would not get around it." He released the patent, and not long after, deleted all of his comments: https://patents.google.com/patent/US9881516B1/en It is unethical to require students to waive their rights under FERPA to a third party company in order to to pass a class.
    2024-06-09
    Lamron Rose
    Lamron Rose
    en First of all, I have summer school. I'm not trying to deal with invasion of privacy in my own home. If anything I'll feel more comfortable doing my test in the middle of the night at 3AM so really no one can watch me. And the fact that AI detects motion if theres anyone in the room with me is plain stupid
    2024-06-08
    M.A.S. Productions
    M.A.S. Productions
    en Such an invasion of privacy
    2024-06-07
    Angel Leal
    Angel Leal
    2024-06-07
    Joshua Omosebi
    Joshua Omosebi
    2024-06-06
    Charles Ocasek
    Charles Ocasek
    en hey gang! i agree this is very intrusive. remember you can disable and extension. i always have honorlock disabled and then i turn it on right before my exam and then turn it off again right after i'm done
    Upgrade to see all 227 reviews