Dashlane - Password Manager Dashlane - Password Manager

Total ratings:
3.43 (Rating count: 1,775)
Recent 25 reviews
Timestamp Author Rating Comment
2021-06-22
John Carter
John Carter
A key feature is to enter new passwords. This was easy on the desktop app and impossible on the web app. I've wasted huge amounts of time wrestling with this problem.
2021-06-22 CARLTON TRONVOLD have issues and no live support to help. in the past have tried e-mail support but that didn't work.
2021-06-22
Ken D
Ken D
So happy I set this up and have used it everyday for the last year. It has made digging into old accounts and keeping track of secure info so much easier.
2021-06-19
Rich Dempsey
Rich Dempsey
MY experience with Dashlane runs over the years. (have updated from 4.23,to the current 9.9 iterartion., so I must confess that I'm "familiar" with the program. My wife has always hated it, partly as a techno-phobe who would have been happy enough re-using her pass word for FaceBook,Google,andvarious "free" software accounts. It's time to move-on from an estranged DASHLANE user to getting a final divorce/ abandoning it all together I realize now, it's hopeless and pointless. Expensive as well,yearly subscription is expensive at more than $60/years,PLUS a monthly charge of $2.99 for each of our 2 smart phones. that I would have been better served by,making and encrypting a LIBRE spreadsheet. We have about 200 passwords, and DASHLANEs utility has deteriorated to the point where I often found that using a 2-factor /2step authorization for my banking, Google,Amazon,and other shopping or confidential websites. etc,etc. I was blindsided along with everyone else with the demise of TrueCrypt in May 2014. As an emergency use,I found VeraCrypt more bother than essential.. I am going to give KeePass 2.8 a quick trial. The bad news is that whatever insight and adaptions the developers have come up with DASHLANE,they have pretty much painted themselves into a corner. Given the currency sub price-you're well on your way to getting a comprehensive security suite, In the beginning DASHLANE was like a Ford Ranger-a long reliable history with quite a few warts. FORD abandoned it's bread and butter ,popular and affordable light truck. Like many US corporations DASHLANE decided that it's customer base was a room temperature IQ fool,and that their management somehow had achieved a product that was better than what it's initial users wanted/needed. The "automatic pass word updater" launched a few years back, was the first bell,the first notice that the company,management and coders knew better than their customers. At this point in my life, it reminds be a lot of Apple/Microsoft/ arrogance when they "announced" that management would lead the unwashed to Heaven,gfor a price. Need a $2K cellphone? Hmm..probably ranks down there with a $80/year sub with a monthly cellphone charge for another $36/year disguised as a recurrent monthly charge. I'm done with Dashlane-I certainly won't be encouraging my co-workers, family members members to try and buy this product,which is soon to be orphaned when (or if) it is absorbed into a MS Suite of sort - the software equivalent of a lingering and lethal destination. Remember AOL,ICQ, MS Office when it went to a monthly "subscription"? Remember the vacuum created when old reliable MS Money was sundownded? I still mourn ECCO
2021-06-19 Josh Steckler The decision of dashlane to discontinue the desktop app and migrate to the to the "standalone" version inside the extension was an act of gross idiocy. Dashlane, Do not discontinue the desktop version under any circumstances. Also do not make me switch to the desktop option of the extension each time I start chrome. Update 6/18: I HATE THIS EXTENSION IN STANDALONE MODE. HATE.
2021-06-18
Chris Randle
Chris Randle
So sad to see yet another application to have the owners plunder the reputation of the brand. This happens all the time these days. In the United Kingdom, we see long stable companies being bought out by venture capitalists who cater to the lowest common denominator and lock down features such that the application degrades over time. m Dashlane shocked me when I went to write a review and saw all of the negative reviews. It's a great shame to watch a once mighty software house buckle under the onslaught from unpaid creditors banging on their door, and the hard-won reputation is reduced to a mere trickle of patches. What happens now is that eventually the company will go bust. All the services that they subscribe to will stop working - such as the Dark Web Monitor service which is third party I believe - and this creates an opening on the market for a competitor. Now the original creators can develop a different product and repeat the whole scam yet again. I suggest that Dashlane start launching a "News" type modal window upon loading, to inform the user of everything that happens behind the scenes. The black box approach does not work for such a beloved public treasure as Dashlane, where the sheer number of people bothering to write bad reviews show that they feel passionately about it. They write verbose reviews - showing the truth of their loyalty could still be retained if Dashlane even bothered to respond to all feedback on here.
2021-06-17
Stephen Sanders
Stephen Sanders
The system used to work pretty well and consistent. Over time it started duplicating accounts, not auto populating or populating the wrong columns. At this point highly unreliable and I need to stop and find the system that actually works. You should can your development team.
2021-06-16
Systems Guy MI
Systems Guy MI
Improving June 2021 review I have been a Dashlane user for many years. It has become an integrated part of my online life for personal and work use. Dashlane responded to my last review which was centered around the extension update 5/25/2021 that they had fixed the issue with field population. Unfortunately it took until 6/4/2021 for the next extension update. I can confirm that it is now populating the first field properly. I tested against multiple websites that were an issue. I also joined the beta - https://www.dashlane.com/beta - and I'm glad I did. I can tell you good things are coming. The machine learning has improved field fill. As has further expansion of Fix It. Although I will say you cannot always get Fix it to appear, which can be frustrating. I still open the desktop app, but am doing my best to go web only. I know old habits are hard to break, but reality is what's the difference between one more tab vs. having the desktop app open? Yes they have more to integrate in the web app, and it's getting there. I did have a rough start with support and getting the beta running. Again this whole email only, 24-48 hour turn around support is a way for tech companies to brush their customers off. It's happening everywhere in the tech industry. But, it doesn’t make it right. I'm eight days out on my last communication with the beta team. I want to address Dashlane's comment regarding limited resources. Dashlane costs more than its competitors. The extension shows 4mil+ downloads. I'm sure there is a large subscriber base. When people pay more for a product than the competitors, it's because they feel there is more VALUE and expect higher quality, period. If they want to be the premier password manager, they need to act like it and step the game up. The user base for password managers is only going to grow until nearly everyone uses one. May 2021 review Web Extension quality getting worse I've been a Dashlane user for many years and love the app. Has some minor issues here and there, but as you use the app you get to know where you might need an extra step or some hand holding to make it work. Makes my life much easier these past few years. We also love the family sharing. FYI, their support is horrendous. No phone, only email. Lots of companies were doing this before the pandemic. It lessens their support footprint because quite often your problem can't truly be handled and addressed. I had an issue with iPhone app and was describing to the tech. Sent several photos to show the issue. He just didn't get it. Was like talking to a box of rocks, and this person was paid for a support role! The issue was with Citibank. I have multiple accounts that use Citibank. Each is a separate login URL. In the app you complete the "Name" field to assure you select the right credentials for autofill. On the iPhone they don’t show the "Name" field when the choices pop up. Desktop and Web they do. Seems simple enough. Instead they show all three as Citibank.com. You can only select the right one by selecting the key, going into the Dashlane app, searching for Citibank, then selecting right one. It's so stupid.
2021-06-16 Hotel Maintainance I have been using password managers for many years as I believe they are essential. Dashlane has been a good product and I have loved using it, however i'm not sure how I'm going to feel when they kill the desktop app. I have a workflow system and am so used to the desktop app, its going to mess me up considerably. I don't like the idea of having to open a browser to get my stuff. Lets suppose I want the details of my driving licence or past addresses, or i need to cut and paste into another app rather than a browser window, then the desktop app is perfect for this, my brain is not thinking browser in these situations. Dashlane if you are reading this, please consider keeping the app, its a lifeline for me!
2021-06-15 Martin R Works great for me but I really wish they'd kept the desktop app, it was great. Can be very annoying having to open a browser to get to the password store, particularly on a fresh Windows installation. All in all tho I've recommended it to a bunch of people in the past and still would today.
2021-06-15
Pamela Roach
Pamela Roach
I used to love Dashlane for years before it was on the web. Now it is hit and miss whether it retrieves the correct password for me. Too many times, recently, I have had to reset my passwords, write the new one down on PAPER and then manually input it into Dashlance after I had already clicked save or replace in the Dashlane dialogue box that pops up on the site of the new login creds.
2021-06-15 Lindsey Boxman In my opinion Dashlane is top-notch, constantly improving, useful additions etc. I'm a content user and so are my kids.
2021-06-15
Chris Sewell
Chris Sewell
I love this extension. Works seemlessly and makes my life a lot easier across all devices.
2021-06-15
Istvan Taubert
Istvan Taubert
something to improve but great stuff
2021-06-15 Chris Stock Its just ok, I really wanted a better password app to mange my passwords. But it never gets the right site on my iPhone and its supper annoying to find the right password. Still not as good as LastPass was.
2021-06-15
John Smith
John Smith
Since Dashlane is dropping the desktop app, this product falls to marginally productive. Make money, to hell with the users.....
2021-06-15
Warren Saunders
Warren Saunders
Dashlane is a great product storing and synchronizing passwords and secure info on multiple platforms. However, the downside is no phone support. No company will ever get a review higher then 3 stars from me if the company does not offer real-time interactive two way conversation with phone support. No not chat. If can chat on a message they can answer the phone. Why? Because when i want to know how to do something I want realtime help NOW. I will pay a premium for phone support.
2021-06-15
Connor Macleod
Connor Macleod
Update: I have been using Dashlane for over a year now and recently upgraded to the professional version. I live below the "poverty line," being disabled with many illnesses that will soon bring an end to my life. While I'm still here, however, the security I need for all of my personal online activities remains a high priority to me and my family. As a result, I use the Pay Monthly option that Dashlane offers, as it's what I can afford. Dashlane is, in my opinion, the best password vault and form filler by far that I have ever used. It is beyond superior to all other products I have tried over the years, and there have been quite a few. I highly recommend everyone to use this as part of their online daily security.
2021-06-14 Olga Alistratov I find the autofill reliable compared to the other password managers I've tried. I also like that I can store my 2FA codes in the app, vs needing to always check my phone, and dark web monitoring will let me know if any passwords are compromised. Edit: June 2021 My favorite part of this app is that it works well on all my devices and browsers (I have an iPad, iPhone, and two computers, where I use Chrome, Firefox, and Safari). Now that the biometrics feature is available in the new Dashlane, even when I use multiple browsers I don't have to type my master password in several places. I am trying to get my family to use Dashlane so I can save some money with a family plan but I haven't been able to yet. I would like to see them make the app easier to use for non-technical people, because those are the people who need help with online security the most. It seems like a big missed opportunity and hopefully someone works on that.
2021-06-14
momo oklm04
momo oklm04
since few days cannot use the chrome extension on option standalone with the desktop app every time i clik on the option its restart but dont save my option why ? u make something?
2021-06-12
Mike Fleischer
Mike Fleischer
Ich bleibe bei Dashlane Habe schon so einige Passwortmanager durch, aber wenn man auf mehreren verschiedenen Geräten seine Passwörter (mehr oder weniger) automatisch ausfüllen lassen möchte, gibt es meiner Meinung nach nichts besseres. Habe seit September 2020 einen Familienaccount, der von vier Personen genutzt wird. Sogar meine technisch nicht sonderlich versierte Frau kommt damit zurecht. Wenn Dashlane so bleibt und sich keinen Unfug leistet, bleibe ich gerne dabei.
2021-06-09
Malgorzata Wesolowska
Malgorzata Wesolowska
I used a chrome extension for couple of months now. I have a comparison to two other pass managers (lastpass and keepass) and I honestly think it's better to save those passwords in a sticky notes and have them open on desktop at all times than using Dashlane. It mixed up the URL (suggests me wrong credentials). When i click on the dashlane logo next to the password input window i see a list of "suggested credentials" but there's not the one that i need - i need to open the extension, copy the password and paste it in the pass input.... Pain in the back.
2021-06-09 R S With every passing week this extension and Dashlane's services are becoming crappier. When we complain then their customer service folks offer free months of subscription as a consolation. But who needs extended compensation of a service that is not working upto the mark. Looks like developers of Dashlane are too busy in other activities than listening to user feedback. Dashlane's top management is of all product manager kind of guys who think solely marketing will work for their product, but they forget for such a niche tech product, listening to user feedback is essential.
2021-06-03 Sushant Chaudhary This used to be great, now it's just another malfunctioning software which crashes or stops working or just has issues every now and then. It's been happening since 2 years but these guys won't do anything about it at all. So if you haven't used this one yet, don't, look elsewhere
2021-06-02
Cédric Bonnot
Cédric Bonnot
J'ai pris Dashlane et cela fonctionne normalement. Il n'y a rien d'extraordinaire, mais ça fonctionne. Par contre avant l'application de bureau (qui va disparaitre) était paramétrable en français, mais la nouvelle web app ne l'est pas. J'ai échanger avec le soutient technique, pour avoir la web app en français (qui va devenir l'unique moyen d'utiliser Dashlane). Leur réponse est: normalement les navigateurs devraient détecter la langue et passer l'app dans la langue détectée. Mais ça ne fonctionne pas, donc on ma invité à faire clic droit > traduire automatiquement > etc... Il faut le faire systématiquement car dès qu'on quitte ça repasse en anglais. Je trouve cela dommage pour une start up française de ne pas proposer une solution qui fonctionne en français, j'avais choisi Dashlane parce qu'ils offrait un solution dans ma langue. Je sais bien que l'anglais est important, incontournable etc..., je parle anglais, mais j'aime aussi bosser dans ma langue. Déçu