Malwarebytes Browser Guard

Malwarebytes Browser Guard

The fastest and safest web browsing experience.

Total ratings for Malwarebytes Browser Guard
3.94 (Rating count: 1,075)
User reviews summary
These summaries are automatically generated weekly using AI based on recent user reviews. Chrome Web Store does not verify user reviews, so some user reviews may be inaccurate, spammy, or outdated.
Pros
  • Effective extra protection
  • Blocking ads
  • Warnings about harmful sites
Cons
  • Slows down websites
  • Causes browser instability
  • High CPU and memory usage
Most mentioned
  • Causes browser instability
  • Slows down websites
  • High CPU usage
  • Blocking ads
  • Warnings about harmful sites
See reviews for Malwarebytes Browser Guard on Chrome Web Store
Upgrade to see all 630 reviews
Recent reviews for Malwarebytes Browser Guard
Recent rating average: 3.20
All time rating average: 3.94
Upgrade to see all 630 reviews
Rating filters
5 star
51% (319)
4 star
11% (70)
3 star
12% (74)
2 star
9% (54)
1 star
18% (113)
Date Author Rating Lang Comment
2024-07-16
Dane Wilson
Dane Wilson
en Amazing extension one of the best i have ever used
2024-07-15
Kman kirby (Mr Kman3281)
Kman kirby (Mr Kman3281)
en If your getting blocked from every website, unadd extension and re-add. You're welcome.
2024-07-15
H
H
en I don't know why it's happened but in the last month my Chrome browser went from having no issues to it crashing and locking out 90% of the sites I use every day because of the Malwarebytes browser plugin. Sites include Youtube, my uni's website, safe and renowned academic databases, and accessibility plugins. You name it and most of it's now affected. From reviews I've seen, I'm not alone. I'm reconsidering my subscription given it seems to break so much these days. Why pay for something you can't use?
2024-07-14
Palash Bansal
Palash Bansal
en Useless, tries to do everything and breaks most of the websites. It even ignores the beforeunload event randomly, so the browser doesn't warn if you accidently refresh or closes, which makes you lose data. All that with no warnings or anything in the console.
2024-07-08
Compreenção soberania
Compreenção soberania
pt precisa melhorar mais!
2024-07-07
Juno Ropret
Juno Ropret
2024-07-06
S A
S A
2024-07-05
snickelfrits fellow
snickelfrits fellow
en love the plugin but its now broke disqus on ALL sites with no real way to fix it other than turning off malwarebytes. making its effectiveness and usability far lower. it will also severely slow down to completely freeze some sites, and i mean normal sites like walmart/amazon/maps/youtube/google/webtoons and similar, really its most sites just some get hit by it a lot harder than others. very disappointing. thought something was wrong with my computer and had just bared with it but found out while trying to fix disqus comment sections that the issues were with malwarebytes. removing it stopped all the problems had been happening and sped up my browsers a good 300-400%.
2024-07-05
A+ Psychlone Computers
A+ Psychlone Computers
en Works very well. To those that don't understand how to create an exception for a website that is blocked, click on the "M" in your extensions and when it opens the Malwarebytes Browser Guard window you can turn any or all of the 3 sliders to the OFF position to turn off those elements in Browser Guard, thereby "whitelisting" a broken website or false positive for that website. Giving this extension a bad rating because Youtube is cracking down on ad blockers isn't correct thinking, it's not Malwarebytes' fault but I know MB is working on it. FWIW, all of your chrome extensions will need to be recoded very, very soon as Google pulls the plug on Manifest 2. ALL of them.
2024-07-03
hs0003
hs0003
en Writing here, cause I was trying to submit a bug report, but got informed that because I don't pay for the service, my ticket was closed instantly. Enabling Browser Guard's Ads/Trackers, or Malware protection options makes the browser freeze on websites with lots of elements, such as pictures or interactable elements. Sites such as google maps causes short freezes on my machine. Sites with more and bigger pictures, usually property listing websites with lots of big images and fancy interactables causes long term freezing, and the worst case I've found was a webtoon site on their display everything page (https://www.webtoons.com/en/originals), that caused my browser to freeze permanently, till forced close. Disabling those two protections fixes the issue for me, so if Scams protections causes the same, it's extremely minor in comparison.
Upgrade to see all 630 reviews