SideTab Pro - Vertical Tabs

SideTab Pro - Vertical Tabs

Vertical tabs for chrome in side panel

Total ratings for SideTab Pro - Vertical Tabs
4.59 (Rating count: 39)
User reviews summary
These summaries are automatically generated weekly using AI based on recent user reviews. Chrome Web Store does not verify user reviews, so some user reviews may be inaccurate, spammy, or outdated.
Pros
  • Great idea for tab management
  • Sleek design and aesthetics
  • Smooth and efficient tab management
Cons
  • Wasted space in the side panel
  • Difficulty in customizing layout and sizing
  • Inability to hide top bar tabs
Most mentioned
  • Wasted space in the side panel
  • Inability to hide top bar tabs
  • Difficulty in customizing layout and sizing
See reviews for SideTab Pro - Vertical Tabs on Chrome Web Store
Upgrade to see all 37 reviews
Recent reviews for SideTab Pro - Vertical Tabs
Recent rating average: 3.80
All time rating average: 4.59
Upgrade to see all 37 reviews
Rating filters
5 star
70% (26)
4 star
16% (6)
3 star
8% (3)
2 star
5% (2)
1 star
0%
Date Author Rating Lang Comment
2024-05-06
russell-orig newman
russell-orig newman
en Expanding / Collapsing of tab groups does not seem to respond to mouse-clicks in the side panel; only from the top tab-bar, which defeats the purpose...
2024-03-19
George Mann
George Mann
en I agree with other reviewers here. The extension is a great idea, but there is so much wasted space. I just took a few measurements: - On my 16" MacBook Pro using slightly larger than default fonts, the side panel itself takes up 35% of the total browser width. That's my start point for how much real estate is lost. - Within the side panel, the unnecessary drop-down at the top to change from SideTab Pro to Reading List etc and the search bar, plus the borders and padding waste 20% both vertically and horizontally. Doing a little geometry here I'm calculating 36% side panel wasted. So to sum up, I'm giving up 35% of my total browser capacity to start, and within that allocated space it is only 64% efficient. I could easily net back a total 10% more total browser side if we had some means to control the layout and sizing better. In Firefox you used to able to user-chrome.css this stuff by hand if you had to (that's what I used to do with side tab pro there). Does Chrome dev really make it impossible to control these UI elements?
2024-03-07
Junmin Hao
Junmin Hao
en Best vertical tab manager so far! A few suggestions: 1. Allow hiding the search box to save more screen space for the tabs. The gears icon currently in the search box can be moved to the pinned tab row. 2. Make the scroll bars dynamic, i.e. only show scroll bars when they are needed, to save more space for the vertical tabs. 3. It would be fantastic if you can provide the ability to narrow down the inner paddings of Chrome's side panel! They are currently too thick. Thanks!
2024-02-01
王智永
王智永
en It's amazing! But the theme is ugly af, author could learn some design skills!!
2024-01-31
Ryan Amasaki
Ryan Amasaki
en Option to remove the "Close Group" button would be great. Also group name looks to be cut off a bit.
2024-01-22
Eclectk 1
Eclectk 1
en It was difficult to figure out how to get the vertical tabs to display. Once I did, I couldn't find any way to adjust the font size or spacing - and was only able to see 9 tabs at a time. Unfortunately that's not very helpful. There's a header there also, but when closing it to gain more vertical space for tabs to show, it just closes the whole thing, e.g., no more vertical tabs at all. Having the search bar constantly shown rather than it being an very small icon type option also takes up too much space. The tabs also don't go all the way to the bottom of the screen. So there's just far too much space taken up with far too few tabs displayed. I also couldn't figure out how to make the tabs display on the left side of the screen rather than the right. I also wasn't able to get it to display using less horizontal space. It's too wide and takes up too much of the screen. Unfortunately none of this works for me. I'm using it on a windows laptop with the latest version of chrome, so I really hoped to be able to see MANY tabs down the left side of the page with an option to truncate/show only the first bit of the tab name, so the vertical tabs would only take up an inch or so of the horizontal space, yet show me many tabs. There's a different app on firefox, I think it's called vertical tabs reloaded (or something like that) which works great - maybe look for that and see if perhaps you can make this one look more like that one does! I wish it were available for chrome. It's crazy that chrome doesn't automatically let us display tabs vertically with some of these sorts of options, but so it goes. Thanks for trying to create that for us - but unfortunately this version at least doesn't work for me.
2024-01-18
Levi's wife
Levi's wife
en The very reason I installed this extension is to declutter the top bar tabs in Chrome. And yet it doesn't hide the top bar tabs and only serves an additional vertical tab settings. Utterly useless as it only serves an additional visual mess. Checked the settings and I see no option to hide the top bar tabs.
2023-12-27
Filipe Gomes
Filipe Gomes
en Works very good so far. Feature request: tab import/export and AI tab group naming. Like detecting it's a Gmail tab and automatically name the group "mail.google.com". Or allow the users to help with that by inputing their group names to a database, at least for most used websites.
2023-12-14
Charlie Chadless
Charlie Chadless
en Looks and functions nice. One small but noticeable inconvenience is it can take a good sec to get updated after a tab has been moved/opened/closed, so use caution when doing quick tab management.
2023-12-01
Bernie Jiang
Bernie Jiang
en Cannot control the tag group for "save group".
Upgrade to see all 37 reviews