h264ify

h264ify

Makes YouTube stream H.264 videos instead of VP8/VP9 videos

Total ratings for h264ify
4.56 (Rating count: 1,093)
User reviews summary
These summaries are automatically generated weekly using AI based on recent user reviews. Chrome Web Store does not verify user reviews, so some user reviews may be inaccurate, spammy, or outdated.
Pros
  • Improves video playback performance on low-end hardware
  • Reduces CPU usage while playing YouTube videos
  • Helps older laptops play higher quality videos
Cons
  • Blocks higher than 1080p video quality
  • May cause lag or freezing on some systems
  • No longer effective for improving performance on newer systems
Most mentioned
  • Improves performance for low-end hardware
  • Blocks higher quality video
  • Reduces CPU usage while playing YouTube videos
See reviews for h264ify on Chrome Web Store
Recent 25 reviews for h264ify
Recent rating average: 3.96
All time rating average: 4.56
Rating filters
5 star
56%
4 star
20%
3 star
0%
2 star
12%
1 star
12%
Timestamp Author Rating Comment
2023-05-14
Graphite GB
Graphite GB
if you use the block 60FPS option youtube will force lower resolutions now as they are no longer converting 1080p 60FPS uploads to 30FPS H264 as they move on with AV1 and WEBM... the block 60FPS mode will drop the resolutions as there is no 30 FPS conversion made above 720p any more if the file is uploaded at 60FPS... H264 4K and 1080P 60 frame rate conversions are not being done on youtubes end any more. turn off block 60FPS and youll get 1080 uploads that were created at 60FPS...
2023-03-29
Alex
Alex
I like this extension a lot. Unfortunately it prevents you from selecting any quality above 1080p. This is fine for my low end hardware but not so good for my other devices. Since chrome extensions are synchronised across devices if you are logged in to the browser I always need to enable/disable the extension depending on the device I'm currently using. It would be better if it doesn't block the higher qualities even if it doesn't work for them... Maybe you could just display a little "h" icon next to the supported qualities instead of blocking the unsupported ones?
2023-03-03
王小凌
王小凌
h264
2023-02-20
Enes Kelleci
Enes Kelleci
baya baya mükemmel
2023-02-04
Lee Jones
Lee Jones
I liked the extension but when I install it it blocks all Qualities above 1080 for me so it's essentially useless for me, BUT! I will for sure recommend this for low end hardware as it can be the difference between an old laptop playing 720p or 480p, and for videos that have text 480 makes it unreadable in most cases.
2023-01-20
Shaurya Shukla
Shaurya Shukla
This works surprisingly well... I wasn't able to play 1080p 60 fps videos without cpu usage above 50 and lagigng out other stuff but this brought it down to 6-20 percent! Great extensions dude thank you!
2023-01-07
Pavel Baranov
Pavel Baranov
Само расширение нормально работает, но все таки с какими-то махинациями, на ютубе в истории просмотра стали появляться левые стримы с накрученными зрилами.
2022-12-13
Hüseyin Çetin
Hüseyin Çetin
in one word awesome
2022-12-06
Дмитрий Шах
Дмитрий Шах
Не помогает.
2022-12-04
John Edward Llanes
John Edward Llanes
Works perfectly on my old Chromebook with a MediaTek MT8173c processor. 1080p 60fps YouTube playback is now possible.
2022-11-24
KENT
KENT
когда ютуб включен с сайта какого нибудь то можно врубить 4к 60 фпс))) и нагрузка идет на видеокарту, а просто на ютубе 1080 60 фпс максимум)) почему непонятно
2022-11-21
Don't do it
Don't do it
This broke. Until a few days ago it was working fine, but now it is causing lag and freezing in the videos in the Opera browser.
2022-11-12
Gamersfan
Gamersfan
Работает, на Core 2 Duo T7500 и gt8600m дает ощутимое снижение загрузки ЦП, так как обработка видео частично переходит на ГПУ, можно проверить в HWiNFO64. Так же радует бонусная фишка - отключение 60 фпс, что еще больше снижает нагрузку на старое железо. На основном ПК это можно отрубить галочками, так что расширение не будет влиять на нормальный комп при синхронизации данных хрома.
2022-11-09
DaMarcus Cooper
DaMarcus Cooper
Two Words "Life Saver". Maybe have a 2K and 4K update next?
2022-11-01
Jesús Gildardo Mejía Cortés
Jesús Gildardo Mejía Cortés
Me ayudó con mi laptop Acer nueva que en algunos videos solo salian rayas de colores y no se miraba la imagen. Ahora ya solucioné el problema y eran los drivers de video de Intel que los actualicé directo de la página de Intel y ahora todo va de maravilla.
2022-10-22
Bikram Agarwal
Bikram Agarwal
It's very useful for less powerful systems, I guess. But be aware that enabling this disables. 2K / 4K streaming.
2022-10-05
Lawrence Cheong 章朝隆
Lawrence Cheong 章朝隆
Thank you very much!
2022-08-31
ᆥ
Расширение начало нагружать ПК, видимо связано с последними обновлениями Chrome
2022-08-12
Naku
Naku
Thank you.
2022-08-07
hahaha2020
hahaha2020
강제로 1080p로 만든다. 쓰레기, 삭제 ㄱㄱ
2022-08-07
Prime
Prime
Mükemmel...
2022-07-30
Anmol Raj
Anmol Raj
THANK YOU SO MUCH
2022-07-27
corrupted
corrupted
расширение снизило несколько процентов хорошее,видео загружает лучше,неплохо
2022-07-22
piyawut linjongvorakul
piyawut linjongvorakul
Very good. My laptop is Broadwell, so vp9 is taxing and makes my laptop hot. This help lower the temp around 5-10 degree celsius.
2022-07-11
Александр М
Александр М
Ещё больше грузить стало процессор. Раньше хоть было 60-100% загрузка, а теперь вечно 100% да ещё и памяти расширение отожрало. Ноль толку.